Hooded Tanktop Hack

When I finally received my beautiful CARS fabric from Northern Rose Fabrics (Canadian) in the mail I knew that it had to become a hooded tanktop for my son.

17.04.29.00004

I even had the perfect matching red stashed away to upcycle for it! (Originally was a cardigan of my moms – this is one way I keep my fabrics costs low)

I didn’t have any off the rack patterns that would fit the bill so I decided to hack the Brindille and Twig free Raglan Hoodie pattern (since I LOVE the hood on it!).

In retrospect, I should have sized down cause while the cotton/lycra is a DREAM to sew with, it is a lot thinner than the sweater material I used last time – duh! Silly mistake on my part!

Seeing as I had never attempted a hack like this I didn’t properly cut the sleeves….

So… happy mistake?

17.04.29.00041

I could cut a bit more off the sleeves to make it into a true tanktop but the conscious I am getting from people is that it is cute as is (and since I’m lazy I’ll probably just leave it!).

And now that we are coming into some warmer weather, I also had enough fabric left over to try a pair of the harem shorts from Made by Jack’s Mum.

They really look adorable on Little Mister A! (But the British Farm thought they were pants and kept trying to pull the legs down…)

Either way he is bound to get a few more pairs at least!

This CARS fabric and a host of others are available now on preorder at Northern Rose Fabrics until May 21!

Every order this round is also entered into a contest to win 5 free fat halves of this rounds prints!

I love being able to support national, Canadian fabric companies!

Leave a Reply

