Carefree Dress by Halla

Were you one of those people that was hitting the refresh button every 10minutes all day until this pattern (Carefree Dress) was released?!?!

I was!

Despite that fact, it took me until the week before Easter to finally get around to sewing it!

Funny how projects pile up, and how priorities get shuffled!

This dress was actually supposed to be finished earlier in the week but I hit a snag on attaching the top to the waist band and had to stitch rip the whole thing.

17976300_10154691584004541_152517299_o

I have to say, my favorite thing about the Halla patterns that have been coming out lately is that they are nursing friendly!

As soon as I say that I made a nursing friendly dress everyone asks if I am expecting again.

The answer is “No”.

BUT, we are planning to have more kids, and with Little Mister A it drove me crazy how inconvenient both pregnancy and nursing was in half of my wardrobe.

With that in mind I am trying to only sew things that will last me through at least two out of the three coming seasons of my life (over the next five years ish): normal size, maternity, and nursing!

This Carefree dress works all three seasons!

Therefore it is a HUGE success in my books!

I have received so many compliments about it today (and my sister in law was jumping on me to make her one the instant I showed her it was nursing friendly)!

Originally I wasn’t a huge fan of the skirt being grey (I knew I wanted the floral top) but I couldn’t think of what color to use, and this is what I had on hand.

Over all, I’m so happy with it and really liking the color combination!!!

Next up I might just make the skirt for myself and try to mix and match it with some of the Stardust Tanktops!

17976094_10154691583989541_38308983_o.jpg

P.S.  I forgot to add that it also has POCKETS!!

Leave a Reply

