Multi Purpose Nursing Cover

As a seamstress (or any type of crafter really), how many times have you heard “I found this XYZ at ABC for $XXXX, can you make it for cheaper?!?!

That is basically how this latest project came about.

There has been a video ad circulating on Facebook for a multi functional nursing cover.

I never really used a nursing cover with Little Mister A so I hadn’t put too much thought into it.

But my sister in law asked if I could make one for cheaper – because after the cost + shipping + taxes it was going to be around $60CND.

Since I had never use one. Or even seen one in person. I was scratching my head a bit about dimensions and the exact shape shown in the video.

PINTEREST.TO.THE.RESCUE!

I found this tutorial where the finished product looked very similar to what we were looking for.

After reading it through, I picked a few fabric options online for my sister in law, and she settled on some 10z Cotton/Spandex Jersey in Mint (which was the most cost effective solution). If I make one for myself in the future I think I would look for some Double Brushed Poly (definitely not a cost effective solution for trying to make it cheaper, ha ha).

It took very little time at all using the tutorial to sew it up. I want to say an hour max!

16.01.29.00014.jpg

I quickly tried it on and forced Little Mister A to pretend to nurse (he was NOT.HAPPY.WITH.ME). But even with all his wriggling, twitching and squirming, the cover stayed in place! Seems pretty perfect to me!

It can be used for a million things, including but not limited to:

  • Nursing cover
  • Car seat cover
  • Highchair cover
  • Cart cover
  • Infinity scarf
  • Blanket
  • Baby wearing blanket

Now hopefully my sister in law likes it!

(Edited to add: She loves it! I gave it to here this past week!)

Leave a Reply

