Fat Quarter Skirt by Thread Riding Hood

Shortly after I started sewing I stumbled upon the blog Thread Riding Hood. I’m 99% sure it was because I was looking for online Canadian fabric stores (remember this from the last post?!).

Since then, it has been a blog I visit and visit and revisit again! So last week when I saw her put out a call for pattern testers for her new Fat Quarter Skirt, well I just had to apply!

Now I never thought I would be chosen (since no one in the sewing world knows me from any other door knob). But I really had nothing to loose!

To my shock. Surprise. And horror (just kidding!). I got the GREEN TICKET email with a copy of the coveted Fat Quarter Skirt pattern.

Problem is…. I only have a son…. and I don’t think theBritishFarmer would be too happy if I started putting Little Mister A in skirts even if it was JUST. TO. TRY. IT. ON.

Solution! I have a beautiful niece that is the perfect age to be my tester (insert snicker here).

16-01-16-00093
Fat Quarter Skirt pattern by Thread Riding Hood
16-01-16-00039
Fat Quarter Skirt pattern by Thread Riding Hood

Now, lets go through why this is such an awesome pattern:

  • It uses TWO fat quarters (which is great if you are like me and initially you build your fabric stash with cotton)
  • It is for KIDS size (not babies as most fat quarter patterns are)
  • There are no paper pieces to print off
  • The PDF pattern is colorful, interactive, and just fun to look at
  • It is beginner level (so everyone can make one (or hundreds)!)
  • It sews up within one nap time (always a bonus in my books!)

And doesn’t it look cute on?! Its a bit chilly here right now so we opted to throw on some tights underneath.

It is also TWIRL-TASTIC!! (Niece S approves!!)

The pink heart fat quarter I picked up spur of the moment a while ago at Walmart (with my nieces in mind) and the light pink cotton linen…….. I’m thinking I must have picked it up at Artjunktion and I cut it into a fat quarter before starting on the skirt.

Now… I’m not EXACTLY sure when this pattern is getting released…. But it is soon! So keep your eyes and ears peeled!

Off I go to sew a few more up — I’m seeing birthday presents dancing in my head!

16-01-13-00010
Coming up…. Fat Quarter Skirt new fabric combo!

 

One thought on “Fat Quarter Skirt by Thread Riding Hood

Leave a Reply

